News & Events

2016 - 2017 Student Officers Announced


J.F. Drake State Community & Technical College has a fantastic new group of students serving as the 2016-2017 student officers.  These include Mr. & Ms. Drake State, the Royal Court as well as the Student Government Association (SGA). 

All of the J. F. Drake State Community & Technical College students are prestigious ambassadors of the college community, and shall serve as representatives at official on and off campus events. The major responsibilities of the King and Queen include serving on the Student Government Association Executive Committee, providing leadership to community service projects, and assisting in college outreach events. Both serve as positive role models for the entire Huntsville community, and are considered excellent examples of leadership.  The Court of Royalty consists of Mr. and Miss 1961 (the year the college was founded), and Mr. & Miss Blue and White (the college colors).

The SGA contributes to the advancement and improvement of the school by fostering faculty/student relationships and understanding and assisting in the promotion of closer ties between the school and the community.

All newly elected students will work together to prepare for the 2016-2017 academic year.  As part of their preparation, the new officers will participate in the Student Leadership Initiative sponsored by Alabama Deans of Student Affairs Association.  This event takes place July 14-15 at the 4-H Center in Columbiana, Alabama.

The 2016-2017 student representatives for each of these positions are as follows:

Mr. Drake State                                Mr. Timothy Newton, Computer Info. Systems

Ms. Drake State                               Ms. Ashley Benford, Business Administration

Mr. 1961                                           Mr. Jared Jenkins, Engineering Graphics

Ms. 1961                                           Ms. Chelsea Bone, Culinary Arts

Mr. Blue & White                             Mr. Ladarren Underwood, Welding Technology

Ms. Blue & White                            Ms. Jailyn Jones, Salon Management

Pictured from left to right:  Jailyn Jones, Chelsea Bone, Ashley Benford, Dr. Kemba Chambers, Interim President, Timothy Newton and Jared Jenkins.  Not pictured:  Ladarren Underwood

Back to News Listing