News & Events

Alabama A&M University’s Progressive Alumni Chapter Honors Drake State’s Dean of Instruction


On June 4, 2016, the Huntsville Progressive Alumni Chapter, Inc. of the Alabama A&M University Alumni Association, Inc. will host its 15th annual Leadership Awards Banquet.  The event honors local leaders and raises scholarship funds for students to attend A&M. The elegant evening takes place at the Ernest L. Knight Center on the campus of Alabama A&M University. Drake State is very proud that one of their very own will be receiving an award.

Awards presented at the banquet included the Civic/Community Award to Mr. Trent Griffin, Physicist, NASA, Corporate Award to Mrs. Cathy Anderson, Owner, Woody Anderson Ford, Educational Award to Mrs. Joyce Rentz, Dean of Instruction at J.F. Drake State Community and Technical College, the Government Relations Award to Mr. Anthony Daniels, Alabama State Representative, House District 53, the Government & Industry Award to Colonel William Marks, II, Garrison Commander at Redstone Arsenal, the Religion Award to Dr. Charles Rogers, Founder and Senior Pastor, Hope Community Church, Small Business Award to Mr. Michael Miller, President, MJT Integrated Systems Solutions, and the William Hooper Council Distinguished Alumni Award to Mrs. Alice Friend, Retired Contract Specialist, NASA. The Chapter will also award their Huntsville Progressive Almuna of the Year to Miss Tonita Phipps and the Huntsville Progressive Alumnus of the Year to Mr. Erskine L. Valrie.


Drake State’s Director of Library Services, Miss Carla Clift, is the current President of the Progressive Alumni Chapter and Mrs. Deloris Smothers, Division Chair for the Business and Information Technologies Division at Drake State, serves on the Leadership Awards Banquet Committee.

Pictured:  Mrs. Joyce Livingston Rentz, Dean of Instruction, J.F. Drake State Community and Technical College

Back to News Listing