Advisory board named for Drake State space construction research program

November 17, 2020

A nine-member advisory board has been named to oversee Drake State Community & Technical College’s new Frontiers Research Program. The Frontiers Research Program was established after Drake State was selected by NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center as a partner to develop 3D printing technologies to support the Artemis mission.

The Frontiers Advisory Board, made up of technical experts, NASA officials and community leaders will provide guidance to the research team throughout the year-long project.

"NASA is calling on us to help develop construction techniques suitable for use on the moon," said Dr. Pat Sims, President of Drake State Community & Technical College. "Our advisory board has the expertise to help guide our efforts as we complete this significant work."

In addition to the advisory board, the Frontiers Research team will be supported by representatives from NASA Marshall Space Flight Center and ICON, a construction technologies company leading the 3D space construction research efforts for NASA.

Drake State is the first community college and only Historically Black community college to receive a cooperative agreement award from Marshall's CAN opportunity since its inception in 2013. The Frontiers Research Program team - which consists of students, instructors and administrators from the college’s Engineering Design program - will test 3D-printed concrete structures to help develop construction techniques suitable for building landing pads, roads, and other large structures on the Moon.

Frontiers Research Program Advisory Board Members

Joe Fitzgerald - Civilian Aide to the Secretary of the Army (CASA) for Alabama (North)
Jason Ford - ICON
Jeff Haars - Vice President and Deputy Program Manager, Jacobs Space Exploration
Laura Hall - State Rep (D) District 19
Evan Jensen - ICON
Dmitri Julius - ICON
Larry Lewis – Cofounder and President, PROJECTTXYZ, Inc.
John Mankins - President, Artemis Innovation Management Systems
John Meredith - President Pro Tem , District 5, Huntsville City Council
Raymond Pierce – President and CEO, Southern Education Foundation
Ritchie Whorton - State Rep. (R) District 22
Lisa Williams – Cofounder and President, 3D Research Corp.